This area does not yet contain any content.
Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.

The Cawood Ledford Club

    In 2001, a group of concerned citizens- led by Tony & Tommie Saragas- joined together to form Harlan County Youth Sports, an organization devoted to providing positive sports leagues and activities to the children of Harlan County.  It didn't take long for this group to realize that the children of our area needed much more than sports.  They needed the opportunities that only a Boys & Girls Club could provide and in April 2003, the Harlan County Boys and Girls Club opened its first dedicated youth facility- The Cawood Ledford Boys & Girls Club- located at the former Loyall Elementary School.  In January 2005, the Club moved into a storefront facility in downtown Harlan and launched a massive capital campaign to raise funds to build a new facility. Led by architect Dwyne Wilkerson and trustees Rick Fox and Don Parsons, construction began on a new, permanent facility in June 2006.

    In August 2007, the newly constructed Cawood Ledford facility opened in the Fairview section of Harlan.  This new facility is tailor-made for our members and offers a large game room, an arts and crafts room, a technology lab, a fitness room, an education lab, kitchen and administrative offices. Over fifty children from both county and city schools take part in the life-changing programs offered in this new facility each day.

The mission of the Harlan county Boys and Girls Club

 is to combat the loss of hope experienced by many area youth by "Inspiring and enabling all young people, especially those from disadvantaged circumstances, to realize their full potential as productive, responsible and caring citizens." The Harlan County Club has been trying to do just that since opening its doors. We have served well over 3,000 children and currently have over 1000 members at both locations. The Club has been in existence for only a short time, but has received an overwhelming amount of support and encouragement from the community.  

Board of Directors

Gail Murray, President

Marcy Hendrickson, Vice-President

Leslie Adkins-Howard, Treasurer

Heather Maples, Secretary

Drew Adams

Foluke Akisanya

Margaret Cain-Miracle

Kevin Cavins

Ronald C. Cox

Justin Curry

Terry Delaney

Megan Donahue

Ron Frazier

Rich Haynes

Jennifer Lee

Dan Mosley

Tommie Ann Saragas



Frances Ledford

Lynn Cox

Rick & Annie Fox

Phillip Hamm

Karen Kelly

Lakis Mavinidis

Don and Linda Parsons

Tony Saragas



Key Staff

Kateena Haynes
Executive Director

Kendra Williams
Cawood Ledford Unit Director

Jenna Noe
Special Projects Coordinator & SMART Moves Faciltator

Kristen Huff
Membership Manager & SMART Moves Facilitator

Harold Calhoun
Program Facilitator